Shopping Cart

You have not added any items to your cart.

Shipping & taxes calculated at checkout.
View Cart


By Deer Tribe / In April 28, 2022

The Huaqua of Happiness

To live a life in alignment with the powers of the directions, we must learn to

  • give with our emotions with tenderness
  • hold and transform with our bodies with intimacy
  • receive with our minds with caring
  • determine with our spirit with passion and lust, and
  • catalyze with our life force energy with open heart-to-heart communication

This is the definition of balanced choreography.  In achieving this balance, we become sacred humans, and receive the gifts of the huaquas: happiness, health, humor, hope, and harmony.

For many years, the children (ages 5-12) attending our summer camp were taught about the huaquas.  At the beginning of the 10 days, they were given long necklace cords and each time they experienced a huaqua, they would “earn” a colored bead that corresponded to the direction of that specific huaqua.  Red beads were for happiness, black for health, white for humor, yellow for hope, and purple for harmony.  The key component of this learning was the children, as a group, decided what constituted being happy, healthy, humorous, hopeful, and harmonious.

It is through their eyes that we have the opportunity to learn how simple this can be!

Here is their list of what it means to be happy:

  • Love
  • Food
  • Singing
  • Painting, drawing
  • Playing
  • Hiking, mountain climbing
  • Being at camp
  • Reading
  • Acting
  • Swimming
  • Seeing animals
  • Laughing at yourself
  • Airplane ride
  • Taking a nap
  • Playing card games
  • Playing together
  • Doing artwork
  • Success
  • Washing someone’s dishes
  • Drumming
  • Being kind
  • Teamwork
  • Hugs & kisses
  • Telling someone you love them

What does your list include??  What little things bring happiness into your heart and keep your emotions flowing so you can give with tenderness?

#SharingKnowledgeThatWorks, #DTMMS

Hello, Sign In
Find A Lodge